Estonia reopens borders to passengers from Europe from 1 June

The government approved the decision to reopen the borders of Estonia from 1 June to passengers arriving from European countries. Estonia will admit people with no symptoms arriving from the European Union, the Schengen area or the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

“Allowing travel to Estonia from the European Union, the Schengen area and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is a major step towards restoring regular free movement; however, we must keep a close eye on the health of our people,” Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said, adding that the compulsory quarantine and monitoring the infection rates in countries of origin were important preconditions for changing travel restrictions.

“We have had close discussions with other countries both at political and administrative level throughout the crisis and public health is everyone’s priority,” Reinsalu added.

The compulsory quarantine for people arriving in Estonia depends on whether the relative coronavirus infection rate in their country of origin is above 15. This means that no more than 15 people per 100 000 inhabitants are infected in the passenger’s country of origin in the past 14 days. Anyone arriving in Estonia from a country with a higher infection rate must self-isolate for two weeks on arrival.

Information on countries and quarantine requirements is updated every Friday on the and websites.

We recommend checking the Foreign Ministry’s Reisi Targalt site (in Estonian), which includes important information on lockdowns, quarantine requirements etc. in countries where Estonia has an embassy.

Additional information:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
Communication Department
[email protected]

28. May 2020 – 22:07